logo aif



The Supervisory and Financial Information Authority (Autorità di Supervisione e Informazione Finanziaria, ASIF) is the competent authority of the Holy See and Vatican City State for financial intelligence, for AML/CFT supervision, for prudential supervision of entities that carry out a financial activity on a professional basis, for regulation for prudential purposes and, in the cases provided for by law, for AML/CFT regulation.

It was established by His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI on 30 December 2010 with the “Motu Proprio” for the prevention and countering of illegal activities in the area of monetary and financial dealings. Following the first modification of its Statute on 15 November 2013, ASIF obtained its definitive Statute with the Chirograph of the Holy Father Francis of 5 December 2020.

ASIF carries out its institutional activity in accordance with, inter alia, Law No. XVIII of 8 October 2013, and is composed of three units: the Supervision Unit; the Regulation and Legal Affairs Unit; and the Financial Intelligence Unit.

ASIF is a member of the Egmont Group, a global organization that facilitates and prompts the exchange of information, knowledge and cooperation amongst member FIUs. On a bilateral level, ASIF has entered into Memoranda of Understanding for the international exchange of information with the competent financial intelligence authorities of various jurisdictions, including: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Honduras, Hungary, India, Isle of Man, Cook Islands, Jersey, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Netherlands, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, United States of America, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan (Republic of China), Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay.